RSS Feed

Counterpoint: Val Emmich is pretty cool and other TV news.

I know Tanis took the strong position of “he’s a’ight” but I have to disagree. Here he is in the season 3 promo for Ugly Betty, which premieres September 25th, two days after Val‘s new album Little Daggers comes out. Hey, how ’bout that?

Although it appears they are pushing him into the Betty’s Love Interest slot, I wish they’d end up just being friends. I mean, does the girl not want to hang out with anyone outside her family and requisite boyfriend? As I said in Tanis’s post, she only has friends when it serves the plot. I live in a decommissioned missile silo and I have a more active nonwork-related social life than this chick. I thought the whole draw of Betty is that she was true to herself–so why can’t that self be allowed to be dude-free for a minute? Or conversely, many dude-ed. She’s what, 23? Why so serious?

In other TV news:

  • Did you watch the SNL season opener? Yeah, well, you weren’t the only one. Saturday Night Live had its best opening since 2001. And speaking of that episode, why isn’t that on hulu, people? I want to see that Paul Simon performance again.
  • George Takei and longtime partner Brad Altman were married yesterday. I would shoehorn the phrase “live long and prosper” into a congratulations except that EVERYONE IN THE WORLD has already done that. So, congratulations to them both.

    “We have a relationship that’s been stronger and longer-lived than some of our straight friends, and yet we were not equal,” Takei told The Associated Press before the ceremony. “What this does is give us that dignity; (it’s) being part of the American system and being whole. We’re making the American system whole as well, as America is becoming more equal.”

  • The primetime Emmys will be airing in six days. We will definitely be reporting, possibly liveblogging. It depends on Jess’s lam schedule. Speaking of our little fugitive, didja see she wrote a post? I know, we were excited too.
About Salome G

Raised by werewolves.

One response »

  1. Well, keep in mind, I hadn’t seen him on the show yet. Very cute. However, I still strongly stand by my position of “Go to Rome with that hot-ass hottie, Gio and screw his brains out.” It’s what I’d do. I’ve done the “date the laid back hipster dude from your apartment building” thing. It never works. Course, my hipster dude wasn’t as hot as Val Emmich and told everybody I was a freak in the sheets, but still.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

