RSS Feed

In which Callum Keith Rennie FINALLY gets his due.

Posted on

It is a rare-ass thing for me to be excited about the premiere of a Canadian television series staring Canadian actors on a Canadian network.

And yet . . .

my cylon boyfriend

I have followed Callum Keith Rennie since he became a Canadian legend in Hard Core Logo. I have followed him to homoerotic buddy cop series Due South, to the Canadian armageddon of Last Night, to the monumentally fucked up and awesome Twitch City, to the seedier side of Vancouver in Da Vinci’s Inquest, to the twelve colonies of kobol on Battlestar Galactica, to — God help me — the second X-Files movie and his turn on the Duchov’s sex show, Californication.

I have followed him all this time, knowing that eventually, sooner or later, the rest of the world would figure out how insanely talented he is.

And now, there is Shattered. Bear with me, Americans. You might actually want to find this show and watch it instead of ignoring it like you do all other Canadian TV shows. I can practically hear Salome asking when Canada got TV.  But I digress.

In Shattered, Rennie plays a former cop whose family was murdered and who now suffers from dissociative identity disorder. He has a few friends up in his brain and they come out to play to help him continue to solve murders. This article describes it as “A Beautiful Mind meets CSI.” And yeah, subtract Russel Crowe, add Rennie and multiply my interest to the nth degree equals I am so there. On the other hand, it could be garbage. I mean, it kind of sounds like a weirder version of that total and utter shit The Mentalist. But I have faith that it won’t go that route, because he is that good. Sorry Simon Baker. You’re going to have to do a lot more than sleep under a bloody smiley face to impress me.

Back to my cylon boyfriend. Sigh! He’s so great! I’m not just saying this, people. Not to put too fine a point on it, but I believe he is one of the finest, most versatile actors of his generation. And not just in Canada! Take that, Sean Penn! But seriously, you know how when you notice somebody and you make a note of them and then suddenly, it’s like they’re everywhere? That’s what it was like when I saw Hard Core Logo. Suddenly, Billy Talent was on Due South. And hey! Is that Ray Kowalski in an X-Files rerun? And isn’t that him in Memento? It IS? Well hot dog! He’s been sort of zooming around the Canadian indie scene ever since he broke out, but he’s also made some appearances in a lot of mainstream crap due to the fact that a lot of mainstream crap is filmed in Vancouver. So yeah, that’s him in Supernatural and Smallville and, uh, Men In Trees. But ignore that! It pays the rent! Watch other stuff he’s in! I promise! He’s grood! Great AND good!

To fully edumacate yourself in all things Rennie, you should rent the aforementioned HCL and Last Night FOR SURE, but you could follow it up with Flower & Garnet, Falling Angels, Wilby Wonderful and Snow Cake, excellent Canadian movies all.

Shattered supposedly debuts on Canwest Global in January. Canadian television has a tendency to appear and disappear in the blink of an eye, but it also has a tendency to go on FOR. EVER. So if I do get to see it, I’ll let you know if it’s any good. I don’t think I’m wrong about how awesome he’ll be, but if I am, hey, we’ll always have Billy Talent and Ray Kowalski and Leoben Conoy to keep us warm.

*****

In other TV news, Boob Tube fave and Mean Girls inspiration Amy Poehler gave her last SNL performance Saturday. We are sad about that. Really, Amy Poehler!? Really!? You couldn’t have done the rest of the season? Really?! Really! OK. No. We understand. Really.

But don’t forget about us! Please visit us on our TeeVees soon! Perhaps in an extended guest starring role on 30 Rock, if we may be so bold as to suggest such a thing?

*****

Stay tuned! I have simply GOT to talk about the crazy ass shit going down on Ghost Whisperer. And while we’re at it, we might want to say a few words about the Golden Globes and the Oscars. Hugh Jackman! I know! Like I said, stay tuned!

About Tanis

Badass, smokin' hot and overall nice to come home to.

Leave a Reply

