RSS Feed

We’re not AFRAID of the dark, per se. . .

Posted on

It’s just that Canadark, the two months of total darkness we have here, is so long and cold!

In fact, it’s so cold that I need to go heat up the bag of wheat I use to keep my feet warm at night. So let’s get right to the Golden Moment, shall we?

Five awesome lines from last night’s episode of How I Met Your Mother:

“Ted has a little sister, gets hotter every day. And if I ever meet her with her boobies I will play. Everybody! Sister, sister, sister!” Really, all the carols were great, but Neil Patrick Harris sold this one by almost starting to dance.

“From Moose Jaw to the Bay of Fundy…” Yeah, yeah. Moose Jaw is a funny name. But come on guys, everybody uses that one! Next time, try a Flin Flon reference. Remember guys, specific is funny! Perhaps work in Mr. Dressup or Tim Hortons. I was also going to rag on them for assuming everyone in Canada wears toques and jerseys but… it’s cold out and my ears get cold and I really love my Flames jersey! Really, Robin’s entire Canada speech was pretty sweet. It made me homesick for the West, which is where I always assume Robin is from.

“I have a secret! No I don’t! Nothing happened! Something happened!” Lily’s helpless gesture when she realizes she won’t be able to keep her secret from Ted is priceless. I love that they kept this bit of Lily’s character. You will recall that she and Marshall tell each other everything. Marshall also continues on his tattle-tale streak this episode, when he tells the Minnesota bar patrons that Robin’s from Canada. Alyson Hannigan has done such a great job in making me forget that she was first and foremost Willow on Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I don’t give her enough props.

“Lily, before you say or do anything, I beg you! One favour…”
“What?”
“Get off that! It’s Prada!”
God, Barney is such a girl! As evidenced by his restaurant ordering. Should’ve just gone with the plate of “mini” hamburgers, dude.

“Your mom and I kissed.” I fully believe that Barney kissed Ted’s mom. I was more than a little disappointed when the post-episode sting wasn’t about this. But Marshall going karaoke on Let’s Go To The Mall more than made up for it.

To sum up, I always love it when How I Met Your Mother rags on Canada, though, really, I feel like they’ve done a better job of it in other episodes, mainly because they were either brilliant nuggets of awesome or episodes that were about something much, much bigger. Maybe it was because the “Robin pines for Canada” plot didn’t tie in with the “Ted’s little sister visits” plot the way “Robin Sparkles/Slap Bet” and “Sandcastles in the Sand/Barney and Robin totally do it” did, but they certainly tried and I cannot fault them for that. B plus. For effort.

Remember guys, Flin Flon.

About Tanis

Badass, smokin' hot and overall nice to come home to.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Barney Stinson: That guy’s awesome. « Boob Tube

  2. Pingback: King of the Hill visits the Royal City « Boob Tube

Leave a Reply

