RSS Feed

Party Down: Extraordinary People

Posted on

When I stumbled upon a description of Starz’s new program Party Down, I thought I might be hallucinating. (Again.) I consulted with Tanis.

Salomé: Party Down?
Salomé: This is a thing?
Salomé: Cast: Adam Scott, Lizzy Caplan, Ken Marino, Jane Lynch, Martin Starr, Ryan Hansen
Salomé: Did I go comatose for a weekend?
Tanis: I don’t know, but it looks like I like it already.
Salomé: Creators: Rob Thomas, John Enbom, Dan Etheridge, Paul Rudd
Tanis: <——- is ded.
Salomé: Does it give me cookies and tell me I’m pretty while I’m watching it?
Tanis: TV show? Movie?
Tanis: I bet it brushes my hair.
Salomé: it’s a show on starz
Salomé: omg…on the second episode we have guest appearances from Jason Dohring and Alona Tal
Tanis: Yusss!
Salomé: My eyes…are strangely wet

So we watched it, nervously because with all that going for it…what if it were awful? But thankfully, we loved it. It was a little hard shaking the feeling of disorientation we felt from never having heard of this show, but then again, neither of us get Starz so we don’t usually pay attention to their advertising. And full disclosure, I had actually heard of the show, but only its title advertised alongside another Starz show called Head Case, which stars Alexandra Wentworth.

But the thing we loved about Party Down the most, besides the actors and the writing was how dead-on they get the little indignities of being underemployed–a fine example being a scene in the first episode where the waiters receive their tips. If there’s anything worse than getting $14 for a night’s work, it’s getting $13.36. This is not to say, however, that the show is a downer. In fact, what’s the opposite of a downer? This show.

Oh and the first two episodes were directed by Fred Savage. This becomes funnier once you realize one of the shows you know PD star Adam Scott from. And speaking of, one of the fun things about the show is spotting Veronica Mars cast members guest-starring on the show. There will be several, but you’ll have to see the tenth episode for…well, you’ll see. (And you really will, if you click that link!) Can’t wait! Catch the trailer below:

About Salome G

Raised by werewolves.

Leave a Reply

