RSS Feed

We’re too old for this stuff! Huzzah!

Posted on

I haven’t talked much about How I Met Your Mother this season because, well, I’ve been slightly disappointed.

On the one hand, the Canada jokes are never not awesome. They’re gold, Jerry. Yukon Gold. Hahahah! You can use that one, producers! Also, at least consider Flin Flon! It’s a funny name! See also: Regina. Come on! COME ON!

On the other hand, I’m starting to wonder if writing around two pregnancies isn’t starting to wear a little thin. I will give it to them, they are being very creative about how they’re hiding Cobie Smulders and Alyson Hannigan’s bellies. They’ve used purses and bags and coats and the usual assortment of holding things, but scarves, flowing blouses, racks of basketballs, orange slices, guitars and drying dishes made the cut this week. And props for still having Robin and Lily drinking with the boys!

You know what? Just because this episode wasn’t over-the-top awesome doesn’t mean it didn’t have its moments. They do keep coming up with awesome websites and pop culture witticism that I am sure I’ll be referencing for years to come. The Murtaugh list may, in fact, be one of the most inspired yet. ‘Cause I’m almost 30. And that means I’ve only got a couple years of beer bongs, raves and TPing laser tag places before going to bed at 8 p.m. and getting up at 4 a.m., instead of the other way around, which is how I like it.

This episode, everybody really got a chance to do something. Robin’s tale of the Canadian version of Murtaugh and Riggs was awesome. I don’t know if the producers know this, but… it kind of actually exists. Yeah. Ahem. Let’s never speak of this again.

The kindergarteners were great. I loved the one in the cape during Lily’s version of practise. I also loved the unexpected way Marshall screamed like a girl when Lily threw a chair at him after threatening that her punishment would be “worse than that time I discovered your browser history.”

Neil Patrick Harris’ laser tag scenario with the FANTASTIC Robert Wisdom (better known as Bunny Colvin from The Wire) made me laugh out loud, especially when he’s given a second chance, only to immediately hold a kid down with his foot to shoot him while laughing maniacally.

It is rare when Ted’s is my favourite storyline. But when it is, it usually coincides with him being an insufferable douche. I don’t know why I enjoy that so much, but I do. Prematurely aging Ted is awesome. Because despite all evidence to the contrary, you can see how Ted could turn out to be a humourless turd. If it wasn’t for the others, specifically Robin and Barney, I’d have very little reason to like Ted.

The other thing I’ll mention is that I like how specific they get in their jokes. Like when Ted and Barney are making their bets and they step it up a notch with a reverse Murtaugh list that Ted must complete, Ted mentions the specific kind of architecture he wants to spend four hours discussing if he wins. And Barney clarifies that the toilet paper used in the TPing of the laser tag place if he wins must not be the organic biodegradable kind because “I want it up there forever!”

And it must be said, Teen Wolf? Awesome. Arooooooo! Men becoming wolves!

Well, I’m off to bed early. What? This is a totally reasonable hour to go to bed for me! I sure hope I don’t run across a Lethal Weapon marathon. ‘Cause I am surely too old for this stuff.

About Tanis

Badass, smokin' hot and overall nice to come home to.

One response »

  1. Hi I reach your site when i was searching Google for this

    Reply

Leave a Reply

