RSS Feed

Balking To New Orleans.

Posted on

HBO and creator of the greatest show of all time, David Simon, are combining to kill me. They are currently producing a new show, set to air next year, called Treme. Treme, named after a neighborhood in New Orleans, will focus on a group of musicians living in the post-Katrina Crescent City. The program will feature Wire vets Clarke Peters and Wendell Pierce, along with Melissa Leo, Khandi Alexander, Steve Zahn, Kim Dickens and Rob Brown. Last year, Simon told NO’s Times-Picayune that the show “would reach beyond the music scene to explore political corruption, the public housing controversy, the crippled criminal-justice system, clashes between police and Mardi Gras Indians, and the struggle to regain the tourism industry after the storm.”

“It’s basically a post-Katrina history of the city. It will be rooted in events that everybody knows,” Simon said. “What it’s not going to be is a happy stroll through David Simon’s record collection. It should not be a tourism slide show. If we do it right, it (will be) about why New Orleans matters.”

I know why it matters and I know how horrible it was when the levees failed and I also know that David Simon can wring emotion like few others (if the topic of Duquan comes up in conversation, I typically need a moment to regroup), so while I’m looking forward to seeing this, I also know that at some point, I will sob like a little girl. And that point will probably be at least once in every episode. So I’ve got that going for me, which is nice.

So since David Simon isn’t making a “tourism slide show,” that’s good because I already have a favorite. I saw this commercial nearly every morning before Katrina and I miss it.

And while I’m on the topic of New Orleans, allow me to shamelessly pimp promote a few of my favorite NO-based businesses:

Storyville features locally-designed apparel, as well as customized clothing and screenprinting services. It’s owned and run by the amazing Harvey Durham siblings and they are very nice people and you should give them lots of your money in exchange for their goods and services.

Dirty Coast also sells locally-designed apparel, including the NOLA Gothic shirt which is a personal favorite of mine.

Metro Three also also makes apparel. I wear a lot of t-shirts, okay–what of it?

And finally, on the non-tee tip, New Orleans Public Library still needs help.

About Salome G

Raised by werewolves.

Leave a Reply

